Chapter 7: Art and the Enlightenment

There are five sections in this chapater:

  1. Rococo:  Art and the Aristocratic Pursuit of Pleasure
  2. The Enlightenment
  3. Neoclassicism
  4. Neoclassicism in the United States
  5. Napoleon Bonaparte and the Transition to Romanticism

Learning Goals

Upon completion of this module, you should be able to:

  1. Describe the distinctive characteristics of the Rococo style
  2. Explain the role assigned to art by Enlightenment philosophers
  3. Discuss the distinctive characteristics of the Neoclassical style, and why it appealed to Enlightenment philosophers
  4. Discuss Jacques Louis David’s Death of Socrates and Oath of the Horatii, and explain how both pictures embodied Enlightenment values, and supported the ideals of the French Revolution
  5. Explain how Jacques Louis David’s Death of Marat was revolutionary in subject matter, and how it reflected the major shifts taking place during the Enlightenment


Khan Academy Quizzes:

Fragonard’s The Swing Quiz

Rococo Art Quiz

David’s Oath of the Horatii Quiz